Er. Dipendra Kandel's NGO Leads Election Observation Missions in Kaski and Bhaktapur- 29 NOV 2019

29.11.19 11:02 AM By Info - (Empowering The Nation)

Er.  Kandel and Shanta Sharma Lead  Election Observation Missions for Dipendra kandel Initiative in Kaski and Bhaktapur


The Office of Dipendra Kandel is happy to officially announce that Er. Kandel’s NGO, the Dipendra Kandel Initiative, will be leading two electoral observations on 30 November 2019. These observations will be conducted in both Bhaktapur, Constituency No.3, and Kaski, Constituency No.2. The official name of the election observation mission is ‘DKIEOM’s 2019 Nepal by-election’.

This will be an amazing opportunity for the Dipendra Kandel Initiative which has also attended electoral observation missions in Denmark, Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. Such missions are conducted in order to examine the administrative processes a state takes during its elections as the DKI believes this is a true reflection of a state’s bureaucratic practices.

Pleased that its application was approved by the Electoral Commission of Nepal, the Dipendra Kandel Initiative is now delighted to know that its delegates will be going to perform two election observation missions. The first delegation, led by Founder cum President Er. Kandel, will be in Kaski, Constituency No.2, where a Parliamentary by-election will be held. The second delegation, led by Vice President Shanta Sharma, will be in Bhaktapur, Constituency No.1(Kha), where a Province Assembly Member by-election will be held.

The Dipendra Kandel Initiative delegation observing the Kaski, Constituency No.2, Parliamentary by-election will be: Er. Dipendra Kandel (head of delegation), Anisha Rauniyar (assistant to head, Er. Kandel), Dewesh Kumar Rauniyar (deputy-head of mission), Anju Kumari Khati (assistant to deputy-head), Sushmita Karki (assistant to mission) and Suraj Timalsina (assistant to mission). 

The Dipendra Kandel Initiative delegation observing the Bhaktapur, Constituency No.1(Kha), Province Assembly Member by-election will be: Shanta Sharma (head of delegation), Rosie Bhattarai (assistant to head, Shanta Sharma), Asim Santos Poudel (deputy-head of mission), Bibek PD. Jaiswal (assistant to deputy-head), Aarohan Godar Thapa (assistant to mission), Priyash Khatiwada (assistant to mission), Guna Raj Pyakurel (assistant to mission), Hari Ram Paudel (assistant to mission) and Bishal Giri (driver). 

The two delegations look forward to observing the tabulation, administrative and logistical processes taken by Nepal during these elections. Furthermore, the Dipendra Kandel Initiative will also formulate an in depth report which will be given to the Electoral Commission of Nepal within fifteen days of the election. This report will provide suggestions, recommendations and feedback on how the election was conducted.

The Office of Dipendra Kandel thanks the Electoral Commission of Nepal for approving the Dipendra Kandel Initiative’s application and for their support during the administrative process.